24’s “Dramatic” Announcement?

The execs at Fox have announced that the next president on 24 will be a women, and will be played by Tony Award-winning actress Cherry Jones.  Peter Liguori, Fox Entertainment Chairman, said “It’s a dramatic decision. … The president is a very important piece of 24.  We’ve had a broad array of presidents on the show; why not a female president?”

OK, season six of 24 was weak because partly because there were no new twists.  It was the same old, same old.  We had Jack battling terrorists, presidential power in question, the government being infiltrated by bad guys, and CTU headquarters being attacked.  Things we’ve seen too many times already.  And to make matters worse, we had to deal with Bauer family soap opera on the side.

Now are we supposed to believe that the ‘dramatic decision’ of casting a female president will really shake things up?  All this says to me is that once again the president will play a major role on the show.  Nothing new there.  If Sherry Palmer would have been president instead of Wayne Palmer last season, would the season have been any better?  Not at all.  Season seven will not succeed because there will be a woman president, it will succeed if the writers start thinking outside the box and give us something new and different for a change.

9 Responses to “24’s “Dramatic” Announcement?”

  1. Brett Says:

    Does this support a pro-Hilary movement just in time for the election? You never know . . . .

    I’m with you – 24 needs more than this. I’ve heard rumors that the main setting won’t even be CTU – Jack might be heading to China. Whatever it is, it’s gotta be better than last year. Getting snubbed for the Emmys should tell them something.

    As for Sherry Palmer, I would rather spend my nights watching Hannah Montana than to see her make a reapperance (from the dead).

  2. monster7of9 Says:

    Having seen all six season of 24 on dvd, the last one someone burned me a copy, you begin to see certain patterns forming. The villian in the beginning is not the same one in the end. If a suspect does not want rat out someone higher up, they some how get a presidental pardon within the hour or gets killed before they reveal any information. CTU for as advanced as they are will always have flaws in hiring people (double agents nina meyers), supervisors will have family issues that take them out of the picture about 1/2 in the season before they get replaced, and the security will be lax enough to gas the place, allow an assasin to come in under disguise, or get blown up.
    But even with all the flaws, 24 is still compeling up tilll season 6. I was excited at the beginning but as always the storyline changes midstream to Jack rescues Audrey from the Chinese. And bringing out Jack’s dad to me seemed like “jumping the shark” like cousin Oliver on the Brady Bunch.
    As for season seven with a female president, I see nothing new in the storyline that not has been told before – the old guard will fight against the newly appointed president, a war needs to be averted overseas or terrorists once again on american soil all with the president making the hard choice of action. On top of that. I had even heard that they are planning to bring back Tony, uhhh? But… he’s dead Jim. Plus, why does even thing have to happen in Los Angeles?
    The oversee Africa storyline might have held promise to revamp the show but it looks like the same old crap we have seen before. I’ll watch but I’m holding my breath.

  3. bw64 Says:

    I know this is an old post, with old comments, so this comment will probably never be read by anyone but me, but here goes. I have to disagree sharply about the quality of 24’s season six. I just finished watching the season on DVD and found it to be thoroughly entertaining, with perhaps its strongest cast (or at least as strong as season five), and a compelling story line. I think the Bauer family sage is quite important to the progression of the seasons, as well as to the development of Jack’s character (which is really the point of the entire series). I give the season two big thumbs up (both thumbs being my own).

  4. monster7of9 Says:

    I say a-ha to you as I am reading your comment bw64. While seeing the Bauer family was probably one of the highlights, the showdown on the oil platform was such a letdown. The look of exhaustion on Bauer’s face in the end to me reflected that the series needed a break. The WGA strike might be a god send but I’ll be eager to watch 24 when this dispute gets resolved, hopefully.

  5. bw64 Says:

    Ah! Someone did read my comment! I will agree that Jack’s last meeting on the platform with his father was disappointing. I thought maybe Jack would shoot his dad or chain him to the platform or something more emphatic. So it was a bit of a letdown. In fact, the season was not perfect. There were some hiccups along the way. For example, President Palmer’s sister was quite tedious at times. And the emphasis on racial profiling seemed overbearing. And the Milo/Nadia drama seemed forced and unnatural at times. But even the Milo/Nadia drama ended with an unprecedented twist (I mean while having an main-character office romance with a bullet in the head is 24-ish in ways, it’s still fairly unprecedented for this show). But when has an season of 24 ever been perfect? You’re always going to have an annoying romance or character who just makes you want to strap some c-4. This was true of seasons 1-5, for sure. Here are some reasons why I thought season 6 surpassed (or at least matched) the previous seasons:

    – The veteran cast made very strong performances. In particular, I have in mind: Jack, Bill Buchanan, Charles Logan, Martha Logan, Wayne Palmer (not as good as his brother, but who could be?), Chloe, and Graham Bauer.

    – Several new cast members added great depth to the season. In particular: Tom Lennox, Morris O’Brian, Vice-President, and Philip Bauer (even though I was really rooting for Donald Sutherland to play Jack’s dad).

    – Jack’s character was developed more than in any other season. The first 6 or 7 episodes did this very nicely. And the last 15 minutes of the season held some of the most beautiful storyline, making it perhaps best season ender yet.

    I’ve got more reasons, but you’ve probably stopped reading by now. So I’ll stop.

  6. monster7of9 Says:

    Don’t stop with the reasons. If you have more, write it down. I rarely get to read or hear anyone’s opinion since I am the only fan among my friends and family.

  7. bw64 Says:

    Other reasons in season six’s favor:

    – More on Jack’s character development. Jack’s character changed in two pretty new (and I think down right cool) ways. First, at the first of the season his mental/emotional capacity to do his job was tested. I think we see Jack at his most “human” in the first six or seven episodes of season six. The 2 or 3 minute sequence of Jack shooting Curtis and watching the nuke explode was fantastic. Also, his interaction with his brother as he tortured Graem was unique and powerful. Throughout the season (but especially at the beginning), Jack questioned his identity with great depth.

    – Second, Jack developed with his personal relationships/loves. His decision to walk away from Audrey at the end was beautiful. The way I see it, Audrey dies (at least to him), just as his wife does in season 1. Only this time, it’s Jack’s decision to let her go, rather than this being imposed on him from without. Don’t get me wrong, it’s the same can’t-have-a-family-and-do-this-kinda-work scenario that we’ve seen on every season so far. But this time, Jack makes the decision with more inner struggle than he’s done so before. His lines of “I love you with all my heart” show this in very real way.

    I’ll add more reasons soon, when time permits.

  8. bw64 Says:

    – I’ve briefly mentioned this above, but I’ll say it again: Peter MacNicol (playing Tom Lennox) was brilliant. I must say I’m a huge fan of Mike Novick (actor Jude Ciccolella). I really hope they bring him back somehow in future seasons. But MacNicol was really fun to watch. Where there may have been deficiencies at times in the presidential scenes (whether it be with the VP’s woman or with President W. Palmer’s occasional annoyances), MacNicol overcame them ten-fold. In particular, I thought MacNicol and Chad Lowe (playing Reed) had some really good interactions.

    – Also, the writers did a good job of bringing back previous-season characters into the storyline. This was done well with Charles/Martha Logan. But this was especially done well with Audrey. The scene where Jack gets Audrey’s phone call was a great twist, even if we saw her coming into the picture at some point.

    Lastly, Jack’s fight with Fayed at the warehouse (when Jack hung him by the chains) was my favorite 24 fight scene of all time. It was very slow, deliberate and showed Jack’s ruthlessness with his enemies. Now that I think of it, I need to play that episode and watch the fight again.

    If you can’t tell by now, I think the key to a good season all lies in the cast and storyline. The cast was exceptional and the storyline was at least as good as the previous seasons. I understand that changes in scenery and script will be a welcome sight when they come. But as it stands, season six is legitimately as good as the other seasons. Thanks for reading.

  9. monster7of9 Says:

    There was something I heard on one of the box sets of 24 where it was advised that Jack will never be happy. The show has lived up to that promise especially walking away from Audrey.
    2nd, the other important factor I love about 24 is how the show will literally kill off characters at will. Nearly everyone is game except for Jack as Day 5 had to most knock offs that I could remember.
    Having said that if the storyline for Day 7 continues with Tony coming back from the dead would not be one of the things I am going to look forward to after the WGA strike. Tony is a great character right from the onset but this may be jumping the shark.


Leave a Reply

