The Best and Worst Movies of 2007 so far

Rotten Tomatoes has released a list of the best and worst movies for the first half of 2007. They basically compile all of the reviews for each movie, and the ones with the highest percentage of positive reviews get on the “best” list, and vice versa. Their formula is a little more complicated than that, but you get the idea.

The top 10 look like this:

1. “Ratatouille”
2. “Away From Her”
3. “Once”
4. “Knocked Up”
5. “Hot Fuzz”
6. “Sicko”
7. “The Host”
8. “Zodiac”
9. “Waitress”
10. “The Lookout”

The bottom 10 look like this:

1. “Because I Said So”
2. “The Number 23″
3. “Premonition”
4. “The Reaping”
5. “Norbit”
6. “Perfect Stranger”
7. “Happily N’Ever After”
8. “Are We Done Yet? ”
9. “Code Name: The Cleaner”
10. “Hannibal Rising”

The only movies out of their top 10 that I’ve seen are Knocked Up and Zodiac, and I think both are appropriately ranked. Knocked Up was definitely one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in a while, better than 40-Year Old Virgin in my opinion. Zodiac was a very long movie, but never really seemed to drag. I would recommend seeing Zodiac just because of they way they capture the “feel” of the 60’s and 70’s. It almost seemed like they traveled back in time to film the movie. Everything just seemed so realistic. Live Free or Die Hard is the only other movie from their top 25 list that I’ve seen and I would agree with the critics that it’s one of the best movies of the year.

I personally would put 300 at the top of my list for 2007, with Transformers right behind it. I think Knocked Up and Live Free or Die Hard are probably “better” movies than Transformers, but other than 300, Transformers is the movie that I’ve enjoyed the most this year.

Thankfully, I’ve only seen one of the worst reviewed movies of the year: Hannibal Rising. I’ll say it wasn’t completely awful, but I certainly wouldn’t recommend it to anyone that I like.

Leave a Reply

