Did you see the JJ Abrams movie trailer before Transformers?

I have to admit, I’m a fan of movie trailers. I always look forward to the previews you have to watch before the movie starts at the theater. I think I may have just seen one of the best ever. Going to Transformers, I figured there would be a bunch of previews for action movies. Instead, we got trailers for all comedies like “Hot Rod” and “The Simpsons Movie”. That is, until the last one showed up. It was one of the most genius trailers I’ve ever seen. There’s no sense in explaining the trailer in detail, but if you’ve seen it, you know what I’m talking about. The fascinating thing is that they don’t give you a movie title, or really tell you anything about the plot at all. All you know is that New York City is getting seriously messed up and all heck is breaking loose. At the end they flash on the screen “From producer J.J. Abrams” and that it opens on 1/18/08. Very little info is given, just enough to pique your interest. Genius marketing if you ask me.

Apparently, the movie is code named “Cloverfield”, and it is some kind of monster flick. The moster is being reffered to as “The Parasite”, although, based on the explosions in the trailer, I don’t see how it is about an actual parasite. Probably just a code name like the the title Cloverfield. Unfortunately, the only way to view the trailer right now is on video sharing sites, and that’s just with someone using a video camera in the theater so the quality is poor. You can check that out here. For more info on the film itself, this website seems to have some good info. I really have no idea what the movie will ultimately be about, but I can tell you that there’s about a 99% chance that I’ll be seeing it in the theater when it comes out. Props to JJ Abrams and Paramount for doing something unique and creating some real buzz. Oh, and by the way, Transformers was really good. Best movie I’ve seen in a while.

One Response to “Did you see the JJ Abrams movie trailer before Transformers?”

  1. Megan Fox Says:

    I’m looking forward to Transformers 2. Megan had no real meaty scenes in How to lose friends and alienate people. And in Transformers she was pretty much mute.

    Shes also up for the role of Leila in Jonah Hex with Josh Brolin.
    She would be a perfect Wonder Woman thought! 🙂


Leave a Reply

