Future Hall of Fame Baseball Players: Introduction

Future Hall of Fame Baseball Player Series:

  1. First Basemen
  2. Second Basemen
  3. Shortstops
  4. Third Basemen
  5. Outfielders – American League
  6. Outfielders – National League
  7. Catchers
  8. Starting Pitchers
  9. Closers

I’m a huge baseball fan, and I’m also a huge fan of sports statistics. Mix these two together and you’ve got an obsessive sports dork. Thankfully, I consider myself more of an intelligent sports stud. OK, maybe that’s pushing it a little bit too far, perhaps I’m just an intelligent stud.

Anyways, back to the topic at hand. The baseball Hall of Fame is the most famous of all sports Halls of Fame, and debating who should or should not get in can get quite interesting. I’ve decided that I’m going to throw my two cents in about which active players should get in, and the two people that might actually read this can let me know what you think.

I’m going to divide this into a different post for each position. The players I list will fall into these categories:

  • No-doubters: These are the players that if they retired today or got hit by falling space debris, they would get in to the Hall of Fame, no question about it.
  • Really good chance: These are players that are close to Hall of Fame status, but they may need to do a little more before the end of their career to solidify their fate.
  • 50/50 chance: Pretty self explanatory. These are the guys that have had really good careers, but may not quite be Cooperstown worthy.
  • Iffy at best: These are the guys who have put up good numbers, but really don’t stand much of a chance unless they put up some big numbers in their last seasons.
  • Too early to tell: These are the young pups that are off to a great start, but need to keep it up for another decade.
  • Close but no cigar: Good careers, but not good enough to be considered one of the elite.

All right, now I’m going to go finish reading the internet. I’ll get back to you soon with Hall of Fame verdicts for every current major and minor league first baseman, or maybe I’ll narrow it down to a dozen or so.

13 Responses to “Future Hall of Fame Baseball Players: Introduction”

  1. bdunc1 Says:

    I’m anxious to see where Odibe McDowell ends up.

  2. Frank’s Blog Future Hall of Fame First Basemen « Says:

    […] Posts Future Hall of Fame Baseball Players: IntroductionThe Summer Movie Season ApproachesWhy Christians Should TitheRoger Clemens is a […]

  3. michael Says:

    how about curt shilling

  4. few4th Says:

    I think Schilling stands an excellent chance of getting in. I’ll post on pitchers in the near future and will certainly get into him, but if he can play a couple of more years at a pretty high level, I think he’s in.

  5. michael Says:

    I think he one more good season at least. that should put him in

  6. PTOWN Says:

    IVAN RODRIGUEZ !TALK ABOUT ALL TIME BEST CATCHERS!
    THIS GUY HAS BEEN PLAYING BALL FOR 18+ YEARS AND HAS BEEN SAID HE WON’T STOP UNTIL 40! PUDGE GETS TEAMS GOING AND KNOWS HOW TO TAKE CARE OF HIS PITCHERS.HE IS ALREADY IN THE Puerto Rico HALL OF FAME!
    LOOK FOR HIM TO BE THE NEXT GET CATCHER I Cooperstown BOUND!

  7. few4th Says:

    Ptown, Agreed that Pudge is headed to the Hall. He’s probably one of the top 3-4 catchers ever.

  8. Luilli Says:

    Pudge, IS the best catcher EVER! and yes he is guaranteed to be in the HOF. Baseball is all about stats and his numbers don’t lie. His is THE BEST!

  9. KB Pollock Says:

    Griffey
    Thomas
    Maddux
    Pudge Rodriguez
    Jeter
    Clemens
    Glavine
    Ichiro

  10. Cardnutt Says:

    LOVE the lists so far. I also love this stuff. Can’t wait to see your pitchers and NL Outfielders lists…

  11. Cardnutt Says:

    I’ll echo everyone’s comments on Pudge. He’s a LOCK even if he were to stop today. Look at all of his stats PLUS…

    1999 AL MVP
    2003 NLCS MVP
    14x All-Star
    12x Gold Glove
    7x Silver Slugger

  12. Ichiro Suzuki Game Worn Jersey Owner Says:

    I am a Mariners fan from Argentina. Very nice Mariners information.
    I am a big fan of Ichiro Suzuki and am disappointed that JJ Putz was traded.
    I hope to be in Seattle for a game this summer.

  13. Rick Says:

    I think that also we need to talk about:

    Pedro Martínez

    Alex Rodríguez

    Albert Pujols

    Manny Ramirez


Leave a Reply

